Robyn Fivush, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Psychology, Chair

Deborah Bruner, Robert W. Woodruff Professor of Nursing, Vice-Chair

Karen Stolley, Professor of Spanish, Vice-Chair

Steering committee
  • Robyn Fivush, Chair of CoLA
  • Karen Stolley, Vice-Chair of CoLA
  • Deborah Bruner, Vice-chair of CoLA
  • Kim Loudermilk, co-chair, Learning through Instrutcion
  • Maeve Howett, co-chair, Learning through Instruction
  • Hiram Maxim, co-chair, Learning through Innovation
  • Jacques Galipeau, co-chair, Learning through Innovation
  • Thee  Smith, co-chair, Learning through Integration
  • Ruth Parker, co-chair, Learning through Integration
  • Claire Sterk, Provost, ex-officio
  • Pamela Scully, Director, CFDE, ex-officio
  • Allison Adams, Associate Director, CFDE, ex-offficio

The convergence of internal and external social forces, technological opportunities, and financial challenges has brought the liberal arts research university to a galvanizing moment.  We can choose to be reactive or we can proactively seize upon this profound opportunity to generate bold and creative transformations that fuel the creation and dissemination of knowledge.  The Commission on the Liberal Arts will position Emory University to be a leader in imagining and implementing a vision for liberal education.  Through facilitating the open flow of instruction, innovation and integration across all units of the university, Emory will redefine in vital ways the mission of the residential liberal arts research university.

Based on the work of the Commission in 12-13 (see archives), we have spent the summer thinking through the most efficient and effective way to move forward this coming year.  The Summer Planning Panel resulted in the formation of three subcommittees (see Committees 13-14).  We are now soliciting nominations for these committees, which will be broadly representative across the university.

Summer 2013 Planning Panel

William T. Branch, Professor of General Medicine

Tara Doyle, Senior Lecturer in Religion and Director of Tibetan Studies Program in India

Steve Everett, Professor of Music and Dean, College of Architecture, Design, and the Arts the University of Illinois at Chicago (August 2013)

Martha Fineman, Robert W. Woodruff Professor of Law; Founding Director, Feminism and Legal Theory Project; Director, Vulnerability and The Human Condition Initiative

Jeffery Galle, Director, Center for Academic Excellence, Oxford College

Justin Gallivan, Associate Professor of Chemistry

Brooks Holifield, Charles Howard Candler Professor of American Church History, Emeritus

John Lysaker, Professor of Philosophy

Michael Sacks, Associate Professor in the Practice of Organization and Management

Jessica Sales, Research Assistant Professor, Behavioral Sciences and Health Education

Holli Semetko, Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Media and International Affairs

Leslie Taylor, Professor of Theater Studies